Slow cooking your way to success

I love to cook. I find it relaxing and very rewarding. However, as a writer it can sometimes be challenging to find the time to cook. The same dilemma can be said of any busy professional; especially any professional that is striving for success while being a parent.

As a writing mom I understand it’s important to also maintain my health. That means fitting in my daily 20 minutes yoga sessions and eating meals that are not take out or frozen dinners. But where to find the time?

I was given a slow cooker last year for a Christmas present (thank you Mom and Dad!) A slow cooker may seem like an odd writing tool, but I define anything that contributes to my writing process as being a writing tool and it defiantly fits the criteria.

Thanks to my slow cooker I can make healthy, homemade meals that don’t cut into my time with my daughter or my writing. Sometimes I even take preparing my meals to a new level by pre-cutting up the vegetables and putting them in zip-lock bags the night before. Then all I have to do is throw in the ingredients and depending on the recipe, brown the meat.

It’s easy to understand the benefits of staying healthy when you maintain a difficult schedule. I always call it the Airplane Theory. Remember- you must first put on your mask before helping others. It is important to stay healthy when juggling being a parent and a professional. You are no good to your child or your career if you are sick or sluggish thanks to a poor diet.

My slow cooker has given my schedule more freedom and myself the satisfaction knowing that I’m eating right and taking care of my family while still accomplishing my goals as a parent and a writer.

Today I’m sharing with you one of my family’s favorite slow cooker recipes. This is one where sometimes I will cut the onion up and bag it the night before. Then in the morning I brown the turkey and throw everything in together. And do serve it with the sour cream. To us, that makes completes the whole recipe and makes the presentation so nice that I look like I’ve worked much harder than I have!

            Happy Friday and happy cooking y’all!

 Don’t miss this great post by WANA leader author Kristen Lamb. The comfort zone is for pets, not professionals.

Also, in news I have an exciting class opportunity coming up. Stay tuned for details!

 Turkey Vegetable Chili Mac

Ingredients:

¾ pound extra-lean ground turkey

1 can (about 15 ounces) black beans, rinsed and drained

1 can (about 14 ounces) Mexican-drained dices tomatoes

1 can (about 14 ounces) no-salt diced tomatoes

1 cup frozen corn

½ cup chopped onion

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 teaspoon Mexican seasoning

½ cup uncooked elbow macaroni

Sour cream to top and serve with some cilantro, if desired.

Directions:

  1. Brown the turkey, drain and put in slow cooker.
  2. Add all ingredients EXCEPT the macaroni.
  3. Cover and cook on low for 4-5 hours
  4. Stir in the macaroni and cover and cook on low for 30 minutes or until the pasta is tender. Image

 

 

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Slow cooking your way to success

  1. OMG sounds HEAVENLY! I’ll definitely give it a try!

  2. Yummmm. Have you tried the plastic liners for slow cookers? The clean up guy at my house loves them, and the food tastes great.

  3. Joy Held's Writer Wellness Blog says:

    Reblogged this on Joy Held's Writer Wellness and commented:
    More Friday Feast fun from Ms. Markey.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 85 other followers

