My blog move plus let’s talk “The Hunger Games”

Well, I’ve done it. I’ve FINALLY joined WordPress. I also just joined Triberr and after playing around with it I’m seeing that having a WordPress account will help me save time. If you know me then you will know that I’m all about saving time. With a toddler, dog, two bunnies and don’t forget my husband who has a brilliant gift for screwing up the laundry–time management is my friend.

As I did on my Blogger page, Pen to Publish, I will post on Wednesdays and Fridays. I will make announcement posts on Tuesdays and Thursdays as related to my Special Needs Dog Care column posts with Examiner.com. Below is my blog post from Friday for anyone who has not read it. After all, this is still opening weekend for “The Hunger Games” and this post is VERY relevant.

You may notice that my blog has experienced a name change. You are right and go get a gold star! Instead of Pen to Publish I’m using my name, Natalie C. Markey moving forward. Thanks to reading Kristen Lamb’s “Are You There Blog? It’s Me, Writer” this makes perfect since.

Enough of my babbling! Did seeing “The Hunger Games” inspire you in ways other than wondering how you would survive the games? It definitely inspired my writing side.

This weekend “The Hunger Games” hits theaters. Heck, many of us saw it last night at midnight and won’t be reading this blog post until much later after they wake up! I’m being a good wife and waiting to see it tonight with my husband so this post is spoiler free.

I love seeing book to film adoptions because I leave the theater feeling so energized. Yes, I like the “Twilight” movies, I love “Harry Potter” and I’m really looking forward to seeing “The Hunger Games” but my excitement isn’t because of the movies it’s because those movies, those books once were only a thought. They all started off with their authors sitting in front a blank computer screen.

Every story comes from a simple thought no matter how complex the plot and sub plots turn out to be. As I write, it’s the endless possibilities that excite me and keeps me pushing through the hard times. Yesterday my daughter woke up on the wrong side of the crib. It rained all day so Oscar (the dog) was naturally upset and even Diamond and Jedi (the bunnies) were restless and just plain annoying. It was a very bad writing day. After everyone went to sleep I stayed up and worked. I revised this blog post, revised another chapter in my YA and wrote my goal of 2,000 words in my middle grade project. Yes, I was up pretty late but it’s the possibility that someday readers may be waiting to read my work that keeps me going.

Most authors don’t get movie deals. I’m not setting my goals to be unrealistic (I still can dream though) but someday I hope to have readers just as excited about my characters as I am. I want to share the worlds I have created with the world and because of such a possibility and goal I keep writing.

“The Hunger Games” began with a blank page. It once was an idea in Suzanne Collins’ head. It wasn’t always a polished manuscript or New York Bestseller. Anyone’s work can get there. The possibilities are endless, exciting and motivating.

How do you keep your dreams and possibilities in sight when you have a bad day?

If you love to follow popular young adult movie coverage Examiner.com has some great columns for you.

The Mortal Instruments Examiner: Where I cover all things related to Cassandra Clare’s series’ The Mortal Instruments, The Infernal Devices, and The Dark Artifices

You can also follow:

The Hunger Games Examiner

The Twilight Examiner

Divergent Examiner

Vampire Diaries Examiner

All of these columns are perfect for up to date and accurate coverage on the popular young adult series that you love.

Novel Novice is another great site that covers all things young adult with an educational spin to it.

5 thoughts on “My blog move plus let’s talk “The Hunger Games”

  1. Welcome to WordPress, Natalie! I bet you’ll love it here.

    I haven’t seen Hunger Games yet, but plan to. As for keeping my dreaming spirit alive on bad days, I’ve been finding mindless TV and hikes in the mountains useful lately. And my favorite medicine—writing. 🙂

  2. StoriesAndSweetPotatoes says:

    Welcome to WordPress! I hope you like it. I’m pretty partial to it, not that it’s without it’s issues. I’m looking forward to seeing The Hunger Games, probably next weekend when it’s hopefully less crowded. I’m always intrigued by film adaptations of novels as well. One thing I’ve noticed is that all the actors in the film that have been interviewed over the past couple months have obviously not read the books which make me wonder how that will translate onto their character. The only one I know of who was a legit fan of the books was the woman who plays Effie.

  3. I haven’t seen Hunger Games yet but can’t WAIT! I love how you break it down to remind us that once, this best selling, movie-making story was just a glimmer of an idea in someone’s head…and voila. It is possible. It can happen. What an inspiration and a motivational reminder. Luv it!

  4. I have a WordPress site as well, and I’ve never regretted it. So user friendly, and more importantly, commenter friendly. Blogger sites make me want to scream.

    I saw the Hunger Games when it opened on Friday, and it was awesome!

  5. I’ve been dragging my feet with moving to WordPress. But I need to do it. Blogger has too many obstacles, and despite having my blog there for over two years, I’m sold on WordPress 🙂

    I can’t wait to see Hunger Games. I loved the trillogy and I wonder how much the movie follows the books.

Leave a Reply

