Are you due a social media check-up?

This past weekend I failed to reach my writing goal but I was hard at work on my writing career. As writers know, there is so much more to writing then just writing. This is a business so the trick is trying to consolidate where we can and strive for more actual writing time. That is why it is important to take a day every now to update and check-up your social media avenues.

It is becoming more important to have a web presence these days. Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, Tumblr, Youtube, Triberr, etc. On Saturday I made the big move from Blogger (my Pen to Publish blog) to WordPress. This was big for me. I am a writer and not a techno girl so it took hours of playing around and I’m still playing with it. For example, I really want to add a picture further up in my header on the home page but I’m still working on that one. The important thing is that I have content and a way to provide my followers with content on a more user-friendly avenue.

I also played around with Triberr. I feel that this is going to be a fantastic time management tool, which I love. Being the mom of a 20-month-old crazy toddler, an epileptic dog and two bunny rabbits- I need all the time management assistance I can get.

I want to spend sometime playing on Pinterest but I didn’t get to it on Saturday. I do plan to to give this a try especially after ready Bob Mayer’s post on Pinterest for Writers. There also is a webinar through Triberr coming up on April 3rd titled, Pinterest for Bloggers.  I’m working this into my schedule around a family photo shoot. Yes, I’m attempting the impossible to get a professional picture of my husband, toddler, dog, two bunnies and I. Wish me luck and it is possible that I’m crazy.

Back to my social media topic, new social media options are popping up all the time. My advise to give each of them a 15 minute test. Play with it. Yes, it takes me longer than some to figure out online sites but if I’m not liking what I see as a user in 15 minutes then it probably isn’t for me. I knew within a 3 minutes (yes, I timed it) that I liked WordPress, the trick was setting it up. I also knew that I liked Triberr very quickly. As for testing results, that may take longer. I have the bonus of access to metrics analysis for most of my online freelance articles. This tells me how people are getting to my articles and therefore what medium is affectively getting me page views. Twitter is hands down the winner here where as Facebook hasn’t shown me much. Knowing such information has helped me customize my social media plan so that it helps me.

My friend Kristen Lamb is the go-to-gal when it comes to all things social media. Seriously, if you haven’t read her books “We Are Not Alone: The Writer’s Guide to Social Media” and “Are You There Blog? It’s Me, Writer” then you must! She also has a great blog, Warrior Writers as well. She really does a great job of explaining social media in a way that makes sense to online challenged folks like myself. Anyone can master this growing frontier and use it to harness more writing time. Let you platform eventually build itself and you can manage it while cranking out that word count.

What social media tricks and sites have impressed you lately?

How are you using them to gain back some more valued writing time?

Nat’s Personal Note:

Again, thanks for following me to my new home at WordPress. I will still be posting the same posts at Blogger for a month to help with the transition. During this time I would appreciate any help from y’all in trying to build my tiny following. I really am interesting J

I’ve been working on sending out family Easter cards. Yes, I’m behind on getting that family picture I mentioned but below is what I’m including in the card. I think it’s Easter appropriate! Meet my new bunnies, Jedi and Diamond!

Image

Blog Mash-up

The Not So Simple -The Surveillance Report: Assembling Endings by author P.W. Creighton

Keep Your Characters True To Themselves by author Jenny Hansen

This is a great series! So, You Want To Be An Author? Part Four – Ideas by author Donna Newton

Keeping your blogging mojo alive and burning by author Natalie Hartford

Until we meet again on Friday, keep writing and remember that we all have bad days- it’s how we manage the chaos that sets us apart in our attempts to be great instead of good.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

8 thoughts on “Are you due a social media check-up?

  1. SQUEEE thanks so much for the FAB shout out. So honored to be included in your line up and along side some pretty fab bloggers. I love the new digs and it’s definitely a transition period learning everything so take your time and know that we’ll all be here to help you through it. 🙂
    I am much the same as you when it comes to social media. I like to get in and dig around and get a sense of whether it’s for me or not. And if I do, then I try to master it by clicking on every button to see what it does. LOL! I also like to stick with learning one platform at a time so I’m not overwhelmed…Pinterest and Goodreads are next on my list to get up and running…
    FAB post Nat!! 🙂

  2. Dahnya Och says:

    A great post, and welcome to WordPress! I just recently started working on my social media platform, and my head has been spinning with the options that are out there – and how many people say are “necessary”. I really wish the community would come up with a list of what’s hot and what’s not!

    Being a full time college student, a full time employee, and trying to be a full time writer leaves me no time for social media. I’m trying though! To keep from burning out, I’m doing a month-long of each platform to sent up followers and timeline before I try incorporating something new. I’m up to week 2 on Twitter, so now I’m working on getting my blog set up!

    I’ve never heard of Triberr and, of course, now I’m going to go check it out! Thank you for that recommendation!

    • Dehnya,

      I love Twitter. For me, it’s been the most beneficial social media investment. It is easy to become addicted though so I set rules for myself. However, it is a fantastic tool when you need to take a moment to look away from what you’re working on!I’m teaching an online workshop in October called Time Management for Busy Writers. It sounds like something you could definitely benefit from! Remember your goals and take time to relax once and a while.

      Thanks for commenting,

      Natalie

  3. Welcome to WordPress, Natalie! It’s a great site, and as you said… very user friendly. I’ve been here for a tad over a year and have really enjoyed it.

    I agree that Twitter is a great way to get out there sharing your words. Some of my favorite writer/bloggers have been found through the Freshly Pressed page of WordPress…. whether they were FP’d or a follower of the FP’d, it all leads to good reading.

    I look forward to reading more of your work. Found you through Wayne Borean Daily!

  4. Jenny Hansen says:

    I adore Twitter too! And I’m so looking forward to the Triberr webinar. 🙂

  5. Jenny Hansen says:

    Oh yes, and p.s. HUGE THANKS for the blog shout out. 🙂

  6. Welcome to WordPress!

    I started my blog here last year sometime, and didn’t really know what to do after that. Then a couple months ago, I came across a mention of Kristen’s books which I bought, and love, love, LOVE, because they are helping me so much.

    I see so many people that adore Twitter the way you do. I guess I’m slow, and don’t really have the hang of it yet. It still feels awkward to me, but I’ll get there eventually.

    I’m also on Facebook and Pinterest and don;t do much with either, but I really want to work on the Facebook thing better. I struggle with balancing the writing with the social media. My tunnel-vision kicks in, and I always seem to accomplish a lot on one while ignoring the other. I think you are right. I need to evaluate more often to see where I am with these things.

    Thanks for all your advice. (And the bunnies are adorable!)

    Laura RItchie

Leave a Reply

