Creating magic in parenting and writing

Easter is this Sunday and that means the Easter Bunny will be visiting so many children, including my daughter. As a parent and bringer of the “Easter Bunny” spirit I take so much pride and enjoyment out of creating the day magical for my daughter. While working her basket of goodies and planning the day it dawned on me. This is also what I do when I write. I work, plan and then sit back to revel in the magical experience I created.

            Being a mom is magical and so is being a writer. We bring magic to pages that create experiences for our readers. These experiences may be useful information, a magically fun escape or inspirational instruction.

            I love being a mom and creating a magical experience in my daughter’s world is so important to me just as it is to create a meaningful experience for my readers. When something means so much to you, you can make it work and that includes making the time.

            Being a writing mom from home is hard work. If you’ve followed my blog then you know that I’ve worked in New York City PR, Houston Advertising and then was a director of a fast growing CBS television’s creative services department. And college was no cakewalk. But doing what I do now is the most challenge career and the most rewarding.

I love what I do and bringing the magic to my daughter means everything to me. That’s why I’ve been planning what will go in her Easter basket for months. I have put care into everything. Do this with your lives and your writing and things will come together—magically.

 

This week I will only blog once in respect of Good Friday.  

 

Happy Easter!

P.S. And being the animal mommy I am, yes they got a basket too 🙂

Image

           

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Creating magic in parenting and writing

  1. So beautifully said Natalie. I hope you have a wonderful Easter with your family and I am sure you will light up your daughter’s heart with all the care and fun you have planned for her!

  2. Writing from home is very difficult, and without the support of your spouse almost impossible. I can’t imagine trying to do this when my 3 were young. They’re old enough now I don’t need to watch them constantly – but it’s still fun to make a day special for them whether it’s a birthday, Christmas, Easter – doesn’t matter.

  3. Joy Held's Writer Wellness Blog says:

    Now if we could just find the magic wand for making revisions a breeze…..
    hugs, Joy

Leave a Reply

