Tackling the crazy- airplane style

How many of you actually listen to what the flight attendants say before take off? Or are you busy rummaging around in your purse and carry-on looking for that gum your just purchased?

I hated flying but throughout my professional career I’ve had to do it more by myself. I’ve actually grown to love it. It gives me time to myself when I can catch up with a good book or get ahead on a deadline or daily word count. Sadly I never listened to those safety instructions until I was by myself. You may recall when they talk about the oxygen masks and how they will fall from the ceiling if the cabin pressure drops that you are instructed to secure your mask before assisting any child you might be traveling with.

Hopefully none of us ever has to experience such a scenario, but there is a lot that we can learn from these important instructions that so many ignore. It’s easy, especially as a parent to want to put others first. We want to take care of our baby. It’s our nature. However, if you aren’t taking care of you, what kind of care are you giving your baby? What kind of quality of work are you putting into that article or manuscript? Did you actually put laundry detergent in the dishwasher?

If you are like me, then you feel like life is sprinting a million miles ahead of us. It’s easy to get caught up in everything but ourselves. Take a little time to breathe. Find something to keep you centered and focused amongst the crazy. TACKLE THE CRAZY!

With a busy schedule, tackling the crazy doesn’t have to take long. I take 20 minutes a day for yoga. I also like to read a little before going to bed. As you can see this routine doesn’t waste a lot of my time. Actually because I do this it makes me a more productive writer, a more attentive mommy, and a much happier person.

What do you do to tackle the crazy? Would you put on your mask before assisting others? Then everyday life should not be any different.

And when we fly, it’s too bad that we can’t all enjoy some entertainment like this Southwest employee provides!

Happy Friday!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Tackling the crazy- airplane style

  1. JoanReeves says:

    Hi, Natalie! I like the your new blog home. Congratulations!

    Keep on tackling the crazy. We all must do that daily lest we become the crazy.

  2. Jenny Hansen says:

    LOVE the rapping flight attendance. I think I’d have had to add a few sound effects if I was on that flight!

    And yes, I find it hard to take care of myself first. 🙂

Leave a Reply

