Are you due a task check up?

Doctors do more than just treat us when we are sick. They also check us up when we are well to ensure our good health. It’s smart to take advantage of such check ups and we should do the same when it comes to our work.

You can be your own doctor, making a house call to check up all that you are doing. Our to do lists can often get overwhelming and unattainable. This is why we must stop and take a look at each thing we do to assess its relationship to our goals.

You should have a long-term goal that is supported by numerous short-term goals that will help you reach that long-term goal. Look at everything you do and ask yourself the following diagnostic questions:

  1. Does this task support a short-term goal?
  2. Does this task support my long-term goal?
  3. How much time does this task take?
  4. What kind of joy do I get from this task?

I recently asked these questions regarding one local freelance contract that I held. It didn’t support either my long-term goals or short-term goals. Many of my contracts help me in building contacts in the industry or support my branding, which in turn supports my goals. This particular contract did not help my branding and did not help me build contracts. I was just simply doing it out of habit. The task had run its course and it was time to let it go and free up all that precious time that I had once dedicated to it.

It’s common to get into a habit of doing something but we all need to take time once in while to look at our tasks from a doctors point of view. Is your task holding you back from greater things? Does it simply drain your time from other projects when you could be working towards your goals?

Have you preformed a task check-up recently? Did you find anything that you gave up or made a change to your routine?

Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Are you due a task check up?

  1. Amazing reminder Natalie. It’s important to honestly evaluate our tasks and lives on a regular basis to ensure we are making the most of our time and efforts. I often catch myself saying “yes” to thinks that have little to do with my goals but more to do with my own perceived sense of obligation or not wanting to let someone down. For me, I am learning to really evaluate requests before saying YES!
    Fab post!

  2. Jenny Hansen says:

    These are good questions and I don’t do this nearly often enough! Thanks for the reminder. 🙂

Leave a Reply

