Finding the magic- In parenting and writing

This Friday my family and I are flying to Anaheim, California where this years National Romance Writers of America conference is being held. Though I don’t write strict romance, I’ve found this amazing group of writers and resources to be extremely helpful to me. I’ve grown so much in my fiction writing skills and have learned great tips on how to create magic on my pages. But before I dive into long days of workshops and meetings, I’m spending sometime at Disneyland, where magic truly lives.

This will be my first time to Disneyland but I’ve been to Disney World in Orlando an embarrassing amount of time. For me each Disney visit is the same. I love the excitement and anticipation that builds just before departure. Very much like the approach of Christmas day builds with amazing thrills. This time it’s different  and it’s not because I’m going to the original park for the first time or that I’m working quickly on last minute writing preparations for the conference. This will be the first time I introduce my two-year-old daughter to the magic of Disney.

We’ve been hard at work watching Disney movies and contributing to her overall Disney education but for me this excitement of knowing what’s in store for her and looking forward to seeing the look on her face when she sees her favorite Tinker Bell for the first time is priceless.

Then last night it hit me. As I sat up in bed writing out notes for a new YA project, I felt a similar excitement. It’s the excitement of experiencing a new world and meeting new characters. New writing projects are exciting. It felt like the anticipation of a magical trip to Disney or Christmas morning.

Writers should approach their plotting like parents with excitement for their children. Creating something new is magical and if it doesn’t wake you up in the night or distract you from things like laundry, then maybe you are pursuing the wrong project.

Share your experiences of magic while working on a new project in a comment below. Also, If you’re going to RWA Nationals let me know. I’d love to meet some of you in person!

Image

Yep, Baby Markey is Disney ready!!! Now if only I could learn from her example and actually NOT wait til the last minute to pack! 

 

 

 

 

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

