So you want to do NaNoWriMo?

We’re over half way through October and many of us are thinking about participating in NaNoWriMo. Wait, what? You don’t know what that is? Yes, it does sound like some weird chant but November is National Novel Writing Month so get ready to see lots about NaNoWriMo.

As a full time writer, I practice my NaNoWriMo every month. However, this is a great opportunity to begin new projects, get motivated or really start turning your dream of being a writer into reality. Still, the idea of writing a complete book in one month is a daunting thought.

Take a deep breath and don’t be scared. Let’s do the math. The average book has 70,000 words in it. Of course, what genre you write will make a big difference in word count. Now November has 30 days in it so let’s divide that 70,000 words by 30.

70,000/30= 2,333.33

Now 2,334 words (yep, I rounded) a day is a lot less intimidating. So, how are you feeling? Are ready to commit yet? Good! You can do this! Now it’s time for a plan.

Keep in mind that you will be writing a very rough draft. NaNoWriMo does not mean you must finish a perfected novel. That should make you feel better but still you need an idea of what to write. Now is the time to play with some ideas. What do you want to write?

I recommend jotting down some notes and even a rough outline. Give yourself something to work from and then those 2,334 words a day will flow easily. You might even find that you go over your planned word count.

Now you need to find the time to crank out those words. I’m dedicating my next two blog posts to various time management techniques to help you get NaNoWriMo ready.

Have you participated in NaNoWriMo before? What do you do to prepare? Share your strategy in a comment below.

Life in Saudi Arabia continues to treat us well. The evenings are really nice and cool. And get this, there are NO MOSQUITOES! Yes, the true Texan is ecstatic over that fact. We’ve been creating an outdoor living are so we can enjoy our evenings. Having this peaceful and relaxing area will also be a great way to wind down.

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “So you want to do NaNoWriMo?

  1. limebirdbeth says:

    I took part in NaNo last year and enjoyed it so much, I’m doing it again (must be crazy!) Great tips!

  2. J. L. Mbewe says:

    I love NaNoWriMo. It’s such a great time to take off our editing hats and write something fresh and rough. I see it as professional development. I’ve done it since 2007, although I took 2011 off. I will be doing it this year, just finished writing tomorrow’s blog post about that. ha!

    as far as preparing for it. I research, get important names and places down, and outline. Then when November gets here I write like crazy. If I get stuck, I write my way out of it. But we’ll see how effective it will be when it gets here with two young kiddos underfoot and too many irons in the fire. 🙂

    Speaking of TX and mosquitoes, I’m originally from MN, now living in TX, and TX doesn’t have as near as many mosquitoes as MN. Saudi Arabia, awesome, what brought you there?

Leave a Reply

