NaNoWriMo for busy writers

“I’m too busy to write.” OK, this always makes me laugh. I often hear this from students when I teach my Writing Moms or Writing for Busy Writers classes. The truth is that we’re all busy in our own ways. You may have a day job (or night job,) care for a child or parent, and just running the typical errands to run a household takes time.

Whatever you think is holding you back from writing, it’s not. You can find a way to make it work. Here are some techniques I’ve learned from being a freelance journalist, author and mother to a highly active toddler.

1. You must identify the times of day that you work at your best. We aren’t all morning people like I am. If you can figure this out you will really unlock some true writing power. If you write at productive times for you then you’ll get much more accomplished than if you write during non-productive times.

2. Start each day with your writing. This may sound hard, however if you set your alarm clock 30 minutes earlier to write you will find that you are happier throughout the day. Not everyday is easy. Stuff comes up. I quickly found once I had my daughter that if I at least get some writing done then no matter what happens I’ll know I did something towards my dream.

3. Create a support network. Tell your husband, family and friends that you’re writing. Ask them to check in with you to see how you are doing. This feeling of checking in with someone will help you to stay on task.

You can make this work. NaNoWriMo is a great time to start writing that novel that’s been stuck in your head. Take the jump. Make the commitment and start taking your writing seriously.

How do you prepare for NaNoWriMo?

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

