NaNoWriMo for Moms

I’m convinced that being a writing mom is one of the most challenging career choices. I’ve worked for a high profile NYC PR firm, CBS Television and been the youngest business director for an advertising firm. When I decided to take my part-time freelance career full-time, when my husband and I started our family, I thought it would be easy. I mean, because of my previous fast-paced jobs I had time management and prioritization skills down to perfection. I quickly learned how ridiculously wrong I was.

You cannot plan out your day when you are working with a child. They don’t follow schedules or respect your to-do list. However, you can set attainable goals in day parts. When I had my daughter I learned to plan out my to-do list by placing tasks in the morning, afternoon and evening categories. I also listed a few tasks that had to get done and along with tasks that I wanted to get done. I kept these lists reasonable. More times then not I was able to pick something from my want list and ended my day feeling really good.

It is important to understand that not everyday is going to be a winning day. Kids throw monkey wrenches into our plans. When I have one of those days I recall a good day and that makes me feel better. I also fall back on my time management techniques that I discussed in my previous post. I especially love waking up a little earlier to get some writing done. This way, no matter what the day brings I know that I got something done.

Use your child for energy. All moms are jealous of their children’s energy. I’ve found that by playing and really engaging with my daughter some of her energy rubs off on me. It’s impossible to not have fun when playing tea party with my little blue-eyed angel. Capitalize on those moments and use them to rejuvenate your writing self.

NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) is quickly approaching. Remember that this isn’t as scary as it sounds. If you write a 70K book, then you’ll need to write 2,334 words a day. That is doable even for a mom. Start figuring out your strategy now and find time to make time for your writing dreams.

Hello fellow Moms! How are you preparing for NaNoWriMo?

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “NaNoWriMo for Moms

  1. November is a crazy month for anyone what with the holidays, but it’s so much crazier for me because I also have my anniversary, my little boy’s birthday, AND the holidays. NaNoWriMo for me is a chance to prove to myself that, no matter what happens, i can achieve the goals I set forth.
    One of the first things I do is go out and buy a butt-ton of paper plates and plastic utensils. It’s easier on the sink and my time=)
    The next thing I do is go out and find a new pair of earbuds I like so I can plug in music when the kiddos go to bed and have all the time to myself and my writing.
    And last but not least, I warn my family to tolerate Mommy because the Big Bad NaNo Monster is on her tail 😉

Leave a Reply

