The productiveness of a writing flow

Having a writing flow or work flow is essential to being productive and happy with your work. Lately thanks to our fabulous new nanny, I’ve been able to really enjoy a new flow that is proving productive to me. However, I haven’t always had a nanny or the luxury of time to effectively maintain a lengthy writing flow but there are ways to accomplish similar success when in time constraints.

First of all, we are all busy. Everyone has something be it a toddler, an elderly parent, an actual steady paying job, etc. If you want to write you can find a way to do it. Something that has helped me in times where I can’t write for a long period of time is how I take notes. When my daughter needs me, I quickly jot down on an easily accessible tablet a few words telling me what scene I was writing and where it was going.

This way when I do sit back down to resume the flow I don’t have to spend time reading back and remembering what I was doing. It takes just a second to write down a note and I’ve found that it saves me so much time. Believe me, it’s worth taking the time.

Another thing I do is schedule monthly writing retreats. Now, yes most writing retreats can get expensive especially depending on where you travel. This is why I schedule my writing retreats right at home. All you have to do is inform your family that on (insert day and times) you will be working. Schedule it around family time and activities. This is a great way to involve your family in your work.

What tips have you learned when trying to get and maintain a writing flow? Share them in a comment below!

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “The productiveness of a writing flow

  1. Jae says:

    That’s a great idea to jot down a few notes! And the writing retreats too. That’s certainly something I should institute a little better. And I love that you’re taking a family first approach to this. I know of an author who says you can always make up lost time to family, but I think if you keep saying that pretty soon your relationships deteriorate beyond repair. His philosophy is they should just know you’re a writer and tough stuff, but I always thought there has to be a way to balance things. I’ve always believed that success outside of the home is no compensation for failure in the home. This to me seems to be a more harmonizing way to productivity and happy family life. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

