Understanding when you can’t meet all your goals

Where did the time go? We are just days away from 2013 and not everything on my goal list was accomplished in 2012. This year brought many changes to my life that I didn’t anticipate when I celebrated the start of 2012.

My daughter has been having health issues and we moved to Saudi Arabia. Needless to say, life really got in the way this year and I’m OK to say that I didn’t accomplish everything that I wanted to.

2012 is ending with some positive changes and reason to hope that 2013 will be my year. I finally can say that our new home in Saudi Arabia feels like home. We’ve made some changes to really make it our own and our big shipment is in transit. Soon everything we shipped when we left the States will be here and then this will really be a home.

The move was hard, especially on our furry babies but everyone is now settled and we have a routine. I’m thankful for those who’ve we met that make our lives a little easier here and allow me more time to work. We have a fantastic nanny who is not a sitter but an excellent tutor for Baby Markey. I’m also happy to say we found someone to clean our house and tend to our yard who is not afraid of Oscar, our large dog.

Other than still playing catch up on all the writing time I lost, my routine includes Baby Markey’s music lesson, Latin Dance class and several play groups. There is no shortage of activities for children. We have also made wonderful friends, which is the first step to making a place your home.

Feeling settled, I have great hope and expectations for 2013. I WILL finish editing my next non-fiction dog book early this year and I’ll continue to make strides on my fiction work. I’m actually scheduled to finish my second fiction novel in January. Writing is a true journey and with each new project I grow and I’m reminded that I’ll never know it all. No one does. I’m a perpetual student of the craft and take pride in what each new day brings me professionally and personally as I grow as a writer.

I’m also hoping to pick up some new classes this year and get back into teaching my popular Writing Moms and new Time Management course. I’m fortunate to be continuing my freelance contracts and thankful for the Worldwide Web that makes everything I do possible.

I’m a firm believer in stopping and reflecting on each year. I’m going to take a few days off leading up to the first to review what I’ve accomplished and draft plans to reach my new goals moving forward in 2013.

2012 has taught me to be flexible and understanding. Life happens. You may not make an International move this year but I’m sure something will get in the way at some point of your plans. I’ve learned to be understanding. For a while I was hard on myself and mad that I wasn’t getting where I wanted to be with my career this year. However, I made those goals before I knew what 2012 had in store for me. I’ve had to understand that I couldn’t accomplish everything. It’s OK to extend deadlines when you have justifiable reasons.

I’m my worst critic and the toughest boss I’ve ever had. It’s important to take a step back when you need it or the work you produce won’t be the work that will make you proud.

2012 was a year of struggles and major growth personally. 2013 will be the year for the professional me.

As we prepare to celebrate 2012’s end, are you where you wanted to be? What are your plans for 2013?

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

