Finding serenity in a limbo-filled January

I love the start of a New Year. It feels like the first day of school, which I always loved. I always had my binder, backpack and other supplies in perfect order. I wore a new outfit and entered the school with a smile and high hopes for the New Year.

Now as a professional and with a family of my own I still view the New Year with the same excitement. I always get new office supplies, organize my desk, clean and organize my house and clip all my New Year goals on my giant white erase board easily seen from my desk. Often January is my most productive month as inspiration and excitement take over after the Holiday break. However, this January is different.

If you follow this blog, then you know that we moved to Saudi Arabia this last September. We only brought with us what could fit in suitcases and paid extra to bring three excess baggage boxes. The rest of our things though we packed up for a sea shipment. This process takes a long time and all of our things are expected to arrive later this month.

And our waiting game continues. I found out just after Christmas that I need Gallbladder surgery. I’ve been listed as a top priority with the surgeon and hospital here but even then I don’t have a pre-opt scheduled until the middle of the month. Until then I’m in pain and desperately working ahead on projects so I can afford to take a week off and rest during my recovery.

So I begin this new year feeling like a kid anxiously and nervously waiting for something dreadful and exciting like a move. No one likes moving. It is surrounded with hard work and the nagging irritation of getting settled but once you get past that initial phase many find happiness in new homes. For me, I’m excited about getting our shipment but I dread all the work and organizing that will accompany it. I also dread this surgery but know that once I’m recovered I will feel like a new person.

This January I sit in limbo but if you’ve ever felt this way at the start of the year, there are things you can do to conquer the wait and get your year started.

I always wear a silver bracelet stressedengraved with the Serenity Prayer, “God grant me the serenity
to accept the things I cannot change; courage to change the things I can and wisdom to know the difference.” No matter what your religious affiliation is, this prayer can see you through tough times. For me, it encourages focus on what I can control.

I may not have my desk and office set up the way I like to start the New Year BUT I can buy office supplies, decorate it and organize it to my taste as best as I can. I don’t have my giant white erase board BUT I can tape paper to the wall and post my 2013 goals. I also have taped favorite quotes or pictures to my wall. You might remember them attached from previous blog posts ☺ I can also organize my house to the best that I can until my shipment arrives. I’ve taken time to hang up the wall art and family pictures that we brought with us. Anything to give our house that sense of home.

I can’t pick or move up my surgery date BUT I can turn my dread and anxiety to positive work. There are many things in my life that I cannot control at the present but I can control what I do each day to write towards my goal and how I live and see the world around me.

Are you starting the New Year in a state of limbo? How are you finding serenity in a limbo filled January? Have you experienced this before? How did you prevent a slow January from dragging down your year?

 

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “Finding serenity in a limbo-filled January

  1. Piper Bayard says:

    Hi Natalie. Hope all goes well with your surgery and that you really do get some rest for your recovery. Sounds like you’re meeting a difficult time with a very constructive attitude. *salutes*

Leave a Reply

