The Value of Paper

It seems that today everyone is going green. More companies are forgoing paper statements for electronic statements. Paychecks are automatically deposited in your checking account and their stubs are available online. Even doctor offices and hospitals have moved to electronic records. It seems that paper print outs are quickly becoming a thing of the past. This is great and I’m thrilled to see how society is on board with helping our planet and cutting down on our insane paper use. However, no matter how environmentally conscience society or I become there is one area where I will always “waste” paper.

Currently, I’m very actively revising a draft in my Middle Grade dystopian novel. Like previous projects, I always do a quick revision pass to check continuity after drafphoto(4)t one but when I need to get down to the nitty-gritty meat of the manuscript there is something magically helpful about holding and marking on physical pages. Time after time, I see that I’m more likely to catch mistakes when I’m reading from a page than when I read on my computer screen.

My house is very environmentally friendly. We recycle plastics, glass, aluminum and paper and we try to limit our usage of such items. However, for editing I can’t ever see myself saving on paper because I value too much the importance of this needed writing step. Such physical pages are valuable and a must-needed investment to my writing career.

How environmentally friendly is your household? Do you have an area, such as revising pages where you must throw environmental thoughts out the window and do what you need to do?

 Blog Spotlight:

If you don’t already, I highly recommend following author and speaker, Kristen Lamb’s blog. She recently posted a great piece on time management and productivity. This is always a topic that I love to study and continue to grow in. Don’t miss, “10 Ways for an ADD Writer to be OOH! SHINY!…Productive”

Also don’t forget to browse the latest writing class option at WANA International. There’s no better way to pressure your 2013 writing goals than continued education.

Leave a Reply

