Writing towards a prize

Bribery is a powerful thing. The power it holds over my potty-training toddler is hard proof. Since my emergency gall bladder surgery I’ve been powering through my days hunched over my laptop and pages trying to catch up. Being stuck in the hospital for a week is never good for ones career. However, my husband gave me the best present for Valentines Day (and no he didn’t give it to me early.)

We need a date night. Since our September move to Saudi Arabia, life feels like it’s spinning out of control desperate for some regularity. Things are settling down. Routines are being established. Just receiving our shipment turned our company-furnished home into a place that felt like home nearly overnight. Life is calming down so naturally I’m ramping up my writing in efforts to make up for lost time. The problem now, yep I’m a workaholic. Lucky for me my hubby see’s the signs and knows how to help me before I crack.

For Valentine’s Day this year he has scheduled an overnight trip to neighboring Bahrain. If you haven’t been to Bahrain its gorgeous and very “Bahrain beach imagewesternized” as compared to my home in Saudi Arabia. It has beautiful beaches, malls, romantic hotels and “adult” beverages. We will be treated to a couples massage, movie date, fantastic dinner and I’m sure, a lovely sunset over the blue waters of the Arabian Gulf. Bottom line, it’s exactly what I need. Hubby did well.

Now, I just need to focus until the 14th but having a prize in sight brings a boost to my work. Knowing that I have a 24-hour spectacular holiday in the near future gives me reason to hunker down and work like never before. I feel fine pulling the long, eye-straining hours because I will have a prize-worthy break.

You don’t have to schedule a vacation, or in my case a very “minication.” Set a goal and assign a prize. Have it be something that truly excites you. Set money aside to by that pair of shoes that you wanted but don’t “need.” We all love bribery. Use our nature to help your work and have some fun along the way.

What prizes have you rewarded yourself with? How do you celebrate breaks and push through hard work to the prize?

ANNOUNCEMENTS:
Due to my surgery, my popular “Writing Moms (and Dads)” WANA International workshop has moved to March. See details below:

Writing Moms (and Dads!) Online Workshop
Date: March 4th, 2013 – April 4, 2013
Description: Plot, character arc, transitions, climax, revise, rewrite, make that deadline, blog, check social media sites, continued education, volunteer for local writing group, read critique partners manuscript, research agents/publishers, read books within your genre, read a craft book and network. These are ALL things that go through writers’ minds on any given day. But what if you had to add: Make bottles, keep up with diaper/Gerber/ formula supplies, feed baby, play dates, bathe baby, wipe up thrown sweet potatoes, shower to get sweet potatoes out of your hair, more playtime, hope for a naptime (for baby, you must write,) read to baby, and hope baby actually goes to bed at the designated time.
For many writers, this is reality. In fact, many full-time writers are made because of a child being born. Some amazing mothers write late at night, around their day job. However you do it, being a writing parent is a challenge but very doable and rewarding. Learn easy self study tactics, time management tips and suggestions from a ten-year freelance journalist, published author and speaker who also has a two-year-old daughter and a high maintenance dog. You can have it all without losing your mind.
Register HERE

Writing Moms (and Dads!) Personal Consultation
Dates: March 4, 2013 – April 4, 2013
Length: Two 45 min. phone consultations. The first consultation will be within the first week of the four-week Writing Moms (and Dads!) workshop. The second will be scheduled prior to completing the workshop.
Description: Take what you learn from the Writing Moms (and Dads!) workshop and get one-on-one guidance on developing the best plan for making you a smarter writer. The first consultation will be a detailed interview followed by a discussion of time constraints. The second will be about developing the best plan for you based off your first consultation discussions. You will also get personalized methods for implementing, testing and carrying out your plan.
Register HERE

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

