What book inspired you to write?

I’ve always loved to read. When I was little I used to sit in my closet and read C.S. Lewis’ “The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe.” Hey, a closet was the closest thing I had to a wardrobe and yet I only visited Narnia in my mind.

When I was in college and then the professional world that followed, it was easy to trade reading for needed sleep as I continued to get busier and busier. However, I never settled to put fiction away and enjoyed countless tales even if it took me a little longer to read thsmithcrownduelem.

A while ago a friend of mine recommended that I read “Crown Duel” by Sherwood Smith. Here is the blurb from the back of the book:
It begins in a cold and shabby tower room, where young Countess Meliara swears to her dying father that she and her brother will defend their people from the growing greed of the king. That promise leads them into a war for which they are ill prepared, a war that threatens the homes and lives of the very people they are trying to protect.
But war is simple compared to what follows, when the bloody fighting is done and a fragile peace is at hand. Although she wants to turn her back on politics and the crown, Meliara is summoned to the royal palace. There, she soon discovers that, friends an
d enemies look alike, and intrigue fills the dance halls and the drawing rooms. If she is to survive, Meliara must learn a whole new way of fighting—with wit and words and secret alliances. In war, at least, she knew whom she could trust. Now she can trust no one.

Sounds good, right? I loved this book and Smith’s use of setting and intriguing quickly inspired my mind into dreaming up worlds and tales of my own. Before reading this book I only wrote articles and non-fiction works. After falling in love with Smith’s fantasy world I starting making notes and writing fiction of my own. It is my greatest goal to soon bring my fiction to readers and maybe even inspire a younger generation of readers as Lewis and Smith inspired me.

What book or books inspired you to write?

Tagged , , , , , , ,

One thought on “What book inspired you to write?

  1. umashankar says:

    Book blurbs can be beguiling; glad it worked to the extent of inspiring you. I will read that book sometime.

    I cannot quote a single book or author for inspiring me to write. Yet, Hemingway could pack so much in tiny little passages that it certainly kindled a flame in my heart. Some of the books that touched me forever are:

    Wuthering Heights
    Sons and Lovers
    Vanity Fair
    Jude the Obscure
    A Farewell to Arms
    For Whom the Bell Tolls
    Doctor Zhivago

    One too many? Here are 26 words from The Snows of Kilimanjaro

    “Outside the tent the hyena made the same strange noise that had awakened her. But she
    did not hear him for the beating of her heart.”

Leave a Reply

