On “mommy moments” and those experiences we dream of

When I first learned I was expecting there were many things that went through my mind. My favorite thoughts were those about what I call, “mommy moments.” These are moments that I’ve dreamed about, where I get to share something special with my child. Some of these moments include taking my daughter to Walt Disney World, which I am doing this Christmas and experiencing her first dance recital. A mommy moment I’ve been looking forward to occurred this weekend.Narnia

I’ve always loved reading and the journeys the pages take me on. Growing up my first favorite story was “The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe.” This weekend, Baby Markey and I curled up on the couch to have some movie time. I chose to venture away from Tinker Bell and try something new with Narnia. My heart melted when my daughter excitedly said, “wow” when Lucy first discovered Narnia. She was glued to the entire film, happily offering her own and priceless commentary.

Seeing the wonder in her face from one of my favorite fiction to film adaptations thrilled me. It was a wonderful “mommy moment” and one that I will always cherish.

Do you have “mommy moments” or “daddy moments?” Experiencing them is the best!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

