Conference Season Prep: How your pets can help

Oscar

Oscar

It’s easy to get wrapped up in your work when getting ready for a major writer’s conference. Perfecting your pages and pitches is important but I also believe that taking time out to do something unrelated to work yet something that you love will always help productivity.

I love my furry children. I’ve been told that some children don’t have it as good as my furry little ones. Pets are expensive and a lot of work so if you’re not going to put in the time to spoil them and love them, then what’s the point?

Diamond

Diamond

Jedi

Jedi

I have four furry children. Oscar is a five year-old epileptic Rhodesian Ridgeback. He runs the house and sits on my feet while I write. Diamond and Jedi earned much popularity from this blog when I rescued them during a flood in Arkansas. My bunny girls were just a few weeks old then and separated from their mother. I bottle-fed them and now they are wonderful members of our family. Now we recently added Beast, a Siamese kitten mix who is giving Oscar a run for his money at running the household.

Beast

Beast

Caring for Oscar, Diamond, Jedi and Beast is time consuming and a lot of work on top of caring for my toddler and working on my career. I wouldn’t have it any other way. Caring for them relaxes me and gives me the break I need so that I can be at my best when writing. It’s been said that pets are great at reliving stress and I believe this.

Now if you don’t have a pet, don’t feel that you have to get one in order to be conference ready. I’m simply saying that if you have a furry friend, don’t neglect them as you prepare for conference season. Your pet can help you in your preparation. So scratch an ear, rub a belly and enjoy all those kisses because you’ll miss them when you’re out of town!

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

