Conference Season Prep: Working ahead

With so many big writing conferences around the corner it’s easy to get so wrapped up in preparation that you overlook basic tasks that will make your life easier. Writing these days is about more than creating compelling stories. We also must create and maintain a web presence through blogs, social media, etc. This takes time and planning and it doesn’t have to be hard.

When I’m traveling from my home in the Middle East to the national RWA conference and other work events in the States it is going to be hard for me to focus on this blog. The news is that I don’t have to. Bloggers can easily work ahead and pre-set posts so that your web presence goes on when you’re busy.

You can work ahead on other tasks as well. Just think about what are the items of your to-do or goal lists that you can predict. Tackle those and get them out of the way now. For example, I’m a freelance journalist covering YA book to film projects, specifically Cassandra Clare’s “Mortal Instruments” series. I’ll be in L.A. for the film’s premiere but there are some articles that I can anticipate writing. I’m taking these topics and writing them now so all I have to do is fill in any blanks and publish them when the time is right.

You can also work ahead on the home front. I’ll be away from home for four weeks during conference and premiere season. My wonderfully supportive husband will be holding down the fort, which involves caring for our toddler and four furry babies. To help him I’m preparing meals and freezing them, creating household task charts and thinking of all the ways I can work ahead and help him out.

I bet there are many ways in which you can work ahead and lessen your workload and stress. What are you doing now that will help you in the end?

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

