Loving the lobby

A hotel can be more than a front desk, home of a likely Starbucks, probable bar and ATM machine. At a conference, the lobby can be a place to network, meet new friends and in this particular place free WiFi. This week I’m attending the national Romance Writers of America conference in Atlanta, Georgia. After two very long international flights it’s tempting to camp out in the comforts of my room. However, I know that is not how I’m going to meet people and get ahead in my career.

It’s so easy for writers to not be social. We spend our time in front of a computer with imaginary friends. I think of conferences like this as being a booster shot of creativity. There is something special being around other creative people and we need to work together to get out and hone that creativity.

Do you stay in your room at conferences or are you a fixture to the lobby? Take this time to get work done but get out so you still have the opportunity to meet people.

If you’re at RWA Nationals let me know. I’d love to meet up!

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

