Writing: A family affair

In my house writing is a family affair. This month I’m in the U.S. for work (I live in Saudi Arabia) and I couldn’t do this if it wasn’t for my supportive husband, flexible daughter and well, the animals are not too happy but they’re managing.

I’m a firm believer that any writer (or creative person) should involve family in their process. For one, it’s good to let them know what you do so they don’t think you’re crazy when you shut them out to spend time with fictional characters. I love talking about story ideas with my husband and getting his feedback and I feel that he likes being involved. Baby Markey is just three but when she’s older I can’t wait to discuss story ideas with her.

Beast on a computerAnd then there are the furry babies. Right now is one of the very rare occasions when I’m not writing with a dog, cat or bunny on my foot and I don’t like it. I feel like something is missing. I love the furry support that I get and it definitely helps with stress. Reports are always coming out about how having pets is good for ones health and I believe it.

By involving your family they will also be more willing and understand why you need to schedule and devote time to your craft. You don’t have to go out of town to a nice lake house for a writing retreat. Of course such trips are nice but you can always schedule a writing retreat anytime in your own home.

Involving your family in anything that you do and love is always the best plan. My family supports me and enjoys being part of my writing process no matter how many legs they have. How do you involve your family in your writing?

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

