Capitalizing on that back-to-school feeling

We all know it. It comes at the end of summer with a frenzy rush of dread, anticipation but mostly excitement. Excitement for a new start, a new year. No, this is August so our party hats, champagne flutes and firecrackers won’t be needed for a while but this event also marks new beginnings. It’s time to go back to school.
back-to-school1Now, you may not be in school. You may not have a school-aged child but we’ve all been there. It’s a universal feeling that a majority can relate to. This is a new an exciting year for our household. Baby Markey is starting pre-school. We’ve bought the backpack, lunch kit, school supplies, etc. She has some new outfits and we’ve been reading all the “back-to-school” themed books we can to prepare her for the big day. It’s a little scary but mostly we’re excited. Along with school comes the start of fall activities. She’s in Latin dance, two music classes and we’re considering adding a soccer. Needless to say I’ve been working hard at setting up our family’s fall schedule.

The idea of structure is appealing. As a writer juggling many projects I find that I’m most productive when I’m busy. Those “light” days are often lost to distractions and the ever so popular phrase; “I’ll do it later.”

Busy is good. Busy is exciting. Busy can be overwhelming but like school, our lives thrive on structure and the chaos of summer just cannot last forever.

I’m treating this time as a new beginning. A new chance to get things right and evaluate where I am before December sneaks up on me. This is a time to make my schedule work for me so that I can stay on top of my 2013 goals. The back-to-school frenzy can work for us all. Buy supplies, set a schedule and feel excited for the possibilities ahead!

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

