It’s not too early to plan for NANOWRIMO

NANOWRIMO or National Novel Writing Month is in November and therefore, just around the corner. It’s never too soon to consider partaking in this worldwide event. It’s important to consider:

1. Do you want to submit yourself to such self-induced stress?
2. What kind of book do you want to write?
3. Do you have a premise in mind?
4. How much outlining, plotting, etc. should you do?

And the biggest question of all……

5. How do you find the time to write a novel in a month?!

Take a deep breath. Calm down. You can do this. I’m a firm believer in, “if there’s a will, there’s a way.” The real question is how can you make the most of your time. I suggest you plan your time before you dive into plotting that exciting NANOWRIMO project.

But I have a ___________(fill in the blank.)nanowrimo logo

The truth is that everyone has something that can be used as an excuse to not write a novel. In my experience the greatest excuse and obstacle often who we love the most—our children. After my daughter was born I quickly realized that I knew nothing about time management, something I once considered a strength. I quickly had to learn to adapt to my new role as a writing mom.

And I believe I have, though it’s always a growing and changing process as time brings new experiences in motherhood and therefore new challenges to time management.

In preparation for NANOWRIMO, I’m offering my popular “Writing Moms (and Dads too!)” for the writing parents struggling to balance writing and family life. I’d love to welcome you to the class and hope you’ll check it out at WANA International.

How best do you manage your time when a writing frenzy is about?

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

