Let it Go part one: The Mommy Me

So while we were in the U.S. for the holidays we took Baby Markey to see her first movie. We saw Disney’s “Frozen” and I need to start by saying that if you haven’t seen this movie then GO SEE IT! It’s amazing and not just a movie for kids. I’m not sure who loved it more.

One of the film’s highlights comes when Queen Elsa (Idina Menzel) performs the Oscar nominated song “Let It Go.” This song is about freedom and the Snow Queen’s celebration of finally being free from hiding who she really is. She really is letting it go.

As a working-from-home-mom there are many times throughout my day when I want to just let it go. There are moments of great frustration when I’m torn between playing with my demanding daughter and meeting a deadline. So this song really represents two parts of my life. “Let It Go,” my new self-designated anthem for 2014 applies to the mommy me and the worker me. This is why this blog post is split into two parts.

These days nothing makes me happier than watching my daughter perform “Let It Go” while wearing her Queen Elsa gown. Of course she includes all hand gestures and foot stomps in her rendition. For such special moments like this I can most definitely afford to let it go. It’s easy to get caught up in work, or at least that’s how it is for me but we’re never too busy to experience those wonderful moments with our children, especially if you are fortunate enough to work from home. Let it go and be the mom/dad that they need in that moment whether that role is watching a performance or fixing a play-doh cake.

I also use the “Let It Go” phrase when picking battles with my three-year-old. Let’s face it, sometimes we’re asking them to do something just so our lives can be a little easier. For example, I love to cook. For me my kitchen time is right up there with my gym time as far as relaxation goes. If I don’t have something in the slow cooker I usually cook our meals around 4pm after Baby Markey is home from preschool and settled into watching a movie. Sometimes however she doesn’t want to watch a movie or play in her playroom. She wants to help me cook. The problem is that when Baby Markey is in the kitchen I’m anything but relaxed!! But let it go! This is not a big lesson moment where she must mind. I normally take a deep breath knowing that I’ll have relaxing kitchen time again another day and I let her help me though it takes longer.

In most aspects of our lives we can afford to let it go. Relax and be ourselves rather than focusing so hard on what we feel is expected of us.

And now for your viewing pleasure, “Let It Go!”

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

