Writing + Fitness Breaks = Better Writing

Okay, I’m the first to admit that I haven’t always followed this advice. It really is important for writers to workout. It just makes sense. We sit a lot, hunched over our keyboards so fitness of course is important to my profession. But as a writing mom I have so much to do! Taking my daughter to school and her various activities could count as a full-time job alone. On top of that I teach tap and jazz dance here in our community and serve on a few volunteer committees. Needless to say life is busy but I wouldn’t have it any other way!

So how do I squeeze in some fitness and how does it help my writing? It’s easy to skip workouts and take advantage of any free second I have but take a moment and think about how you feel when you write. This is something we typically don’t think about since we’re so focused on our settings and characters. After I’ve been writing for a while my back starts to hurt, my neck gets tense and my hands hurt from typing. Even when caught up in my story it’s hard to ignore the signs that my body is telling me to take a break.

Lucky for us there’s an app for that! There are several five-minute workout apps that help you target different parts of your body. Throughout my writing day I am sure to take a few breaks by completing various workout routines. 1. It helps me feel better. 2. It keeps me in shape 3. Doesn’t take much time 4. It makes me a better writer.

That’s right! I’ve found that when I feel better. When I’m in shape I also write better. I stay plenty busy and have not found that taking a few breaks has greatly cut into my schedule. As I’ve said, I feel it makes me a better writer and definitely helps me focus.

What do you do throughout the day for writing breaks? Do you workout? Take a break to clean house?

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

