My Psychology of Productiveness

I’m a big believer in state of mind. Starting in junior high I would always dress up in a cute casual dress, etc whenever it was a testing day. When I felt pretty and put together is also when I did my best work. So do I like to feel pretty? Well, yeah but I believe there is more to it than that. I like to feel prepared, put together and productive. Essentially I like to dress for success.

And to be clear I still wear normal clothes! Here I am with hubby out for a night listening to a jazz band.

And to be clear I still wear normal clothes! Here I am with hubby out for a night listening to a jazz band.

Now I must admit I don’t wear pretty dresses around my house as I’m always bouncing from being a mom and wife to my writing career or my job as a dance teacher. Even when I wake up at 3am to discuss topics related to my The Mortal Instruments Examiner column on a popular podcast show I’m not perfectly dressed. Since the show switched to a video format I still manage to wear my pajama bottoms though I do put on a professional top, throw in my contacts and fluff my hair.

Like many writing and professional moms I too live a busy and hectic life. However, I still know how to find my sense of “dressing up for success.” While it might no longer involve cute clothes my new secret is getting an early start. This accomplishes my need to feel prepared, put together and productive.

Each morning I wake up really early. Like 4:30am early! No, I am not insane. I start each morning out writing and working on a dream I believe in. It may be tiring but it’s amazingly uplifting. When my day goes off its path (and with a three and a half year old that happens a lot) I still feel a sense of productiveness that I did something. If I get frustrated I take a deep breath and remember the work I accomplished. This sense of accomplishment makes me happy and pushes me through everything my day throws at me until a time when I can sit in front of my computer again.

A Bruce mug with coffee is my fuel for early morning writing sessions.

A Bruce mug with coffee is my fuel for early morning writing sessions.

Do you have a special “ritual” that is linked to your personal psychology of productiveness? How do you help your sense of accomplishment when you have many things pulling at your time?

Tagged , , , ,

2 thoughts on “My Psychology of Productiveness

  1. L.S. Engler says:

    I’m definitely a creature of ritual, especially when it comes to my writing. If it’s morning, I have to be in the living room. Coffee has to be out of one mug, tea out of another. If it’s evening, I can only work in my bedroom. It’s strange, but it’s proven. It’s all about where the brain really makes the best connections.

    • Thanks for the comment and yes, I believe that ritual helps writers. I think this is one of the reasons it’s easy to get thrown off your writing schedule when you have a baby. At least that is how I felt! My rituals were tossed out and replaced with chaos 🙂 Thank goodness I’m adaptable but it did take time to find my rhythm.

Leave a Reply

