Who really needs a reason for a nap?

When I sat down to write today’s blog post I thought I would just write exactly what’s on my mind. I’m exhausted! Where we live Spring Break is two weeks, not one. These past two weeks have worn me out trying to entertain and keep up with my active preschooler. I’ve colored, completed puzzles, dressed dolls, sang songs, performed puppet shows, and hosted playgroups. I forgot how much I valued her half-day preschool program where mommy can manage our house and meet those piling deadlines.

So when school resumed this week I longed for my wonderful afternoons of playing catch up on projects and maybe actually chipping away at the mountain of laundry. Then my moment came; I sat down at my laptop with a quiet house. With my dog Oscar at my side I was ready to enter in some page edits before moving on with my novel and all I wanted to do was close my eyes and take a moment for rest.

I know we’ve all been there. Life is wonderful but busy. Rest is essential especially to keep those creative juices going. So in a sign from the heavens I came across an interesting article on Facebook. Yes, Facebook so I’m not too sure of its scientific validity (I need to confirm) but this makes me feel that my desire to take a small nap break isn’t a bad thing.

www.minds.com believes the following when in comes to the coveted nap:

“Experts say a 10 to 20 minute “power nap” is best for refreshing your mind and increasing energy and alertness. The sleep isn’t as deep as longer naps, which allows you to get right back at your day upon waking.

A 30 minute nap can lead to 30 minutes of grogginess, as you are often waking just as your body enters the deeper stages of sleep. You’ll experience some of that same fogginess if you sleep for an hour, but 60 minute naps are good for memory boosting.

The longest naps—around 90 minutes—are good for those people who just don’t get enough sleep at night. It’s a complete sleep cycle and can improve emotional memory and creativity.

Naps are good for you—physically and mentally. But don’t sacrifice night time zzz’s for an afternoon snooze; take your nap in addition to a good night’s sleep.”

A 10 to 20 minutes can refresh my mind and increase my energy? Sign me up! Of course it’s important to not confuse a “power nap” with procrastination. However, when I’ve had a rough day and need to sneak in a quick nap break I’m going to try and do it. I’m sure it will improve my workflow and creativity and that is what I’m after professionally.

Do you take “power naps?” How do they help your energy level, creativity and productiveness?

Even Little Miss Markey and Beast take a moment to nap.

Even Little Miss Markey and Beast take a moment to nap.

Leave a Reply

