The scientific method of fashion and writing part 1

The usual attire, notice the Baylor shirt. Sic 'em Bears!

The usual attire, notice the Baylor shirt. Sic ’em Bears!

This week I’ve been experimenting and pulling out an old tactic that I used in school. I always dressed my best (no prom dresses but I looked darn cute) on testing days or any day when I had to be my absolute best. Now as a writer working from home and a dance teacher the temptation to not stray from my old college t-shirts and yoga pants or dance attire often wins out to anything that makes me feel “dressed up.” So I’ve been making a point to wear normal clothes when writing and I’m seeing how it impacts my productivity.

But halfway through the week I had a thought. If I’m going to conduct this experiment I should take it all the way old school style. It only seems fitting, as it was when I was in school that I found how what I wore did affect my academic success.

Do you remember the scientific method we used in science classes?

Question: Does what I wear affect my writing?

Research: I found this to make a difference when I was in school.

Here’s the new writer me. Feeling good (ignore the messy hair) and feeling cuter than I normally do to sit in front of a keyboard.

Here’s the new writer me. Feeling good (ignore the messy hair) and feeling cuter than I normally do to sit in front of a keyboard.

Hypothesis: I believe that dressing for work even though I work at home will make a difference in how productive I am.

Experiment: To give actual data to the experiment I am tallying up my daily word count on the days I “dress up” as well as the days I wear around-the-house attire. I’ll also write a paragraph each day describing how I felt while working.

Analyze: I’ll look at my word count and testimony from each day.

Communicate: I’ll blog about my progress and of course share the results.

So here we go! Anyone else want to partake in this project? Has anyone done this or how do you feel your attire affects your work?

Tagged , , , ,

One thought on “The scientific method of fashion and writing part 1

  1. L.S. Engler says:

    I tried this a little bit ago myself, but my brain is used to me writing in relaxing, pajama-like clothes, so I found when I did dress up nice as if I was going to a “real job,” I was too distracted and couldn’t focus and felt I should be doing something else. So I’ve embraced my pajama-writing self, and my writing is happier for it. Sometimes, certain things are just ingrained a certain way.

    I think it might be different if I was going somewhere to write, like an office outside the home or a coffee shop, just like you were going somewhere else with school, though.

Leave a Reply

