A creative child and the dilemma of monsters

So if you read this blog then you know that I cover everything from my writing journey, parenting, pets, and my life as an American living in Saudi Arabia. Well, today is one of the “parenting” moments with a writing tie-in. Good news! Little Miss Markey’s creativity knows no bounds and I’m sure she’ll soon start a book series. The bad news? Our house is plagued by nightmares starring monsters on a nightly basis.

The monsters in her dreams are descriptive and always go after her favorite stuffed toy Woof Woof. The dreams typically end (according to LMM) with her engaging the super duper scary monster in an epic battle for the safety of Woof Woof. The battles usually get out of control and involve her waking up with a scream and bolting for our bed. She then cries for Woof Woof while my husband goes to retrieve the trusted toy from her bed.

See? Monsters don't need to be scary. Just like Pixar's Sully.

See? Monsters don’t need to be scary. Just like Pixar’s Sully.

I’ve read all the parenting articles I could find and have talked to so many moms about this topic. How do you handle such vivid nightmares? While I’m a creative mommy (I write fiction, are you shocked about this) I do not like playing around with her monster issues. I know parents who have used “monster spray” to ward off monsters or have used the family dog as a monster slayer. However, I don’t like going along with the idea that they are real. I prefer the “they only live in books and movies” approach. When using this approach though she is a quick to go into explicit details of the monsters and makes it so believable that I nearly think it is real.

So we’ve decided to go with it. Let her use her imagination to combat the problem. Our daughter now believes she is a superhero. That’s right. She works with the likes of Spider-Man and Iron Man in combating the evil monsters of little kids dreams.

So far our new approach is working aside from the fact that she thinks she’s invincible. Although we’ve pointed out that even superheroes get hurt.

Bottom line I’m a believer in fostering creativity in myself and in my daughter. She’s a storyteller and loves make-believe and I’m proud to be raising someone with such creativity and imagination. Seeing her mind work serves as inspiration to me when I’m not having the most creative day writing wise. We’re raised as kids to play pretend and utilize our imagination. So what happens to that? We grow up. When I’m stuck I sit back, close my eyes and try to think like I’m a whole lot younger than I am.

Are you in awe of your child’s creative mind? Have you worked with their imagination to combat a problem or make a point?

Tagged , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

