Tales of a sniffly, snotty-nosed writer

Let’s just say it’s a good thing that you are reading this and not listening to my barely existent voice attempt to squeak out something seemingly coherent. Yep, I’m sick. It’s nothing serious just a horrible, classic head cold that has been plaguing me since the middle of last week. My daughter was kind enough to share it with me and unfortunately it seems to be bothering me a lot longer than it bothered miss-nothing-not-even-a-cold-can-slow-down-my-energy.

Notice the leaning tower of tissues and an empty water glass that I must refill. Sniff!

Notice the leaning tower of tissues and an empty water glass that I must refill. Sniff!

So since the middle of last week I’ve been trudging through my to-do lists battling against a growing pile of tissue. We all know that being sick inevitably slows our productivity. As I return to the land of the living I’m now faced with the overwhelming task of playing catch up. I must get caught up and ahead on blog posts, catch up on freelance articles, revise/edit my YA and monitor enrollment for my upcoming dance class sessions. Thank goodness dance classes are on a break right now and I don’t have to teach. So the big question is: what “to do” I tackle first?

After staring at my goal list (I don’t work from a to-do list but rather a goal list) I’ve come to a few conclusions.

1. How much of this stuff is truly necessary?
2. My priorities are all wrong.
3. I want to take care of the goals I’m most excited about.
4. I want to check off the quick and easy things first so I can feel somewhat accomplished.

I bet this is really how I truly feel about my list even when I’m not analyzing it and trying to find an excuse not to start. I think that these are easy things to feel about what we do and we should take such thoughts into consideration.

Am I wasting time on some things? Do I need to reevaluate my priorities? It’s easy to get done the easy things but should those be the first I tackle? And who doesn’t want to work on what excites them? All honest ways to look at any list. So maybe we should listen to our sick and drugged up minds every now and then? Maybe it’s good to take a step or at least a scoot of your rolling desk chair back and look at things objectively.

Anyway, I’m sure I’m rambling. Yep, still sick here and trying to resume real life because I hate taking days off. I did find this small revelation enlightening and wondered if anyone else has experienced something similar.

Please share your experiences below in a comment and let the discussion begin! Hey maybe such ideas makes being sick every once and a while worth it? Yep, I’m going to go with a big “NO” on that but it is good to look at where we are and where we’re going even if we’re feeling fabulous!

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

