I wish my dog didn’t have seizures but…

I love this dog in all his goofiness and even when he is ill.

I love this dog in all his goofiness and even when he is ill.

I wish my dog didn’t have seizures but as life often shows us, we don’t always get what we wish for. However, having a special needs dog has shaped our family. I’m not saying we wouldn’t be caring, nice people if it wasn’t for Oscar’s epilepsy but I do feel that living with an epileptic dog greatly contributes to my daughter’s growth as a caring and concerned young girl.

The other day at Little Miss Markey’s gymnastics class a little girl fell. My daughter rushed to her side quicker than the teacher and was there assisting the student making sure she was okay. When the other kids stayed back mine rushed to help. Of course she would though; she was born to a family where she often witnesses her dog fall over in seizures and she sees her father and I caring for him. Now of course we train her to stay away from our eighty-pound dog during a seizure but in many instances she is there talking him through it and to love on him afterwards.

She doesn’t know a life other than caring for someone she loves that is ill. She also was there to help me care for our rabbit after she had to have her leg amputated when it was severely broken in the move to Saudi. Little Miss Markey is a born caretaker because she’s been exposed to it her whole life.

“Caring for your Special Needs Dog” shows people hope in light of a beloved dog getting some bad news. See how these families made caring for their dog work for them.

“Caring for your Special Needs Dog” shows people hope in light of a beloved dog getting some bad news. See how these families made caring for their dog work for them.

Now I hope your pets don’t develop any life-long medical ailments. I don’t wish that on anyone but if you do get an unfavorable diagnosis don’t just look at the bad. There’s truth to the saying, “where there’s a will, there’s a way.” There are many ways to easily care for a special needs dog. Often though they are caring for you and your family even more than you put into them. When we lost our youngest daughter two months ago I don’t think I would have made it through the ordeal without the constant love from our dog Oscar. Pets are just wonderful.

In my book, “Caring for your Special Needs Dog” I share many stories of people with dogs suffering from various conditions. In all cases though they make it work and the dogs are valued family members. Yes, be concerned over an undesirable diagnosis but don’t always think of the worst. Think of how you and your family can grow from this. Think of how much your dog means to you and how life would be different without them. You can make this work.

I wish my dog didn’t have seizures but then I see my daughter and how she treats others and I have to give some of that credit to Oscar. He’s shown her compassion in how he acts towards her but also in how she’s grown up seeing us care for him. She sees how grateful Oscar is to us and how in turn he showers us in his love and support when we need it most.

Do you have a special needs dog? How have they impacted your life?

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

