To NaNo or not to NaNo

That really is a big question for many writers these days. November is National Novel Writing Month and it’s knocking at our door. After many have calmed from their post-Halloween sugar highs they find time to write a novel in one month. Now calm down – this doesn’t need to be a perfect, publication ready novel. It can be a sloppy rough draft and it most certainly will be. However, it’s fun to connect with other writers throughout the month, encourage each other and share your daily word counts.
NaNoWriMo
As a writer I treat every month as NaNoWriMo but I respect the process and meaning of the month and encourage others to participate. Sometimes you just need a little nudge. Everyone needs a push from time to time. That’s why I’m participating in NaNoWriMo this year because I need a push and I plan to use the support from the writing community during November to give me the motivation I need.

Since losing our youngest daughter I’ve struggled with my focus and need a push. There are many reasons on why people fall out of their routines. Solidifying a writing routine is a great reason to jump into NaNo. Here are some other great reasons on why NaNo is a great event to partake it.

1. Enjoy the support of the writing community
2. See that you are not alone in your writing journey
3. Show your family and friends that you are a serious writer
4. Get a pesky story and characters out of your head

And I’m sure the list could go on and on but these are always my top reasons for NaNoWriMo. I do agree that what we do becomes habit. In order to write an average sized novel in one month you’d have to write about 1,000 words a day. If you think about the novel in smaller chucks like that then it isn’t too overwhelming. But if you get into the habit of writing those 1,000 words a day why stop after NaNo? Use November to help launch a new and improved writing routine.

Are you participating in National Novel Writing Month? Why do you want to participate? How has participating in the past helped you define a better writing routine?

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “To NaNo or not to NaNo

  1. Arphaxad says:

    This is my second year doing NaNo. Last year I achieved the goal and developed the confidence to continue writing all year long. Before NaNo, I had never written a complete manuscript, and nothing over 10k words. NaNo taught me that I could write a full length novel.

    I also found that writing was a community of people and not a solitary hobby. I encourage anyone who is thinking of trying NaNo to do it. There are no losers during NaNo.

Leave a Reply

