Welcome to the November frenzy

Hello November and hello frenzy. I love November. I love the weather (even in Saudi) and I love the lead up to Thanksgiving and Christmas. You can practically feel the excitement but there also is a frenzy in the air. For many writers November is NaNoWriMo and many are rushing to meet the goal of writing a novel in a month.

November also means it is Christmas shopping season. For parents this means making sure you get those toys on the top of your little one’s list, especially the “Santa list.” If you have a little princess like me, then you are also probably fighting the “Frozen” phenomenon to get those extremely popular toys. I thought I had that all sorted and now I’m on a wait list for some “Frozen” boots. Ugh!

So whether you are a writer writing a novel in a month, a parent stressing over toy shopping or just trying to find the perfect gift for someone who is hard to shop for—November can be a stressful time. This is why I have to force myself to sit back and be thankful. November is really about giving thanks, not all this other stuff that causes stress. I’ve started giving thanks each day for someone or something in my life. Each day this month will be dedicated to something or someone else. For me doing this exercise keeps everything in perspective.

Yes, I’m participating in NaNo, yes I’m working on finalizing our Christmas shopping and yes I’m planning our upcoming trip to the States and family vacation to Disney World but all of this doesn’t take away from what I’m thankful for.

So how do you keep it all in perspective during the November frenzy?

Is your child asking for all things “Frozen?”

Is your child asking for all things “Frozen?”

Tagged , , , , ,

One thought on “Welcome to the November frenzy

  1. Wow! It sounds like you’ve a got a lot on your plate. I try to keep my life balanced by creating a daily to-do list, making sure to include a few tasks from each aspect of my life. It’s a difficult juggling act during NaNoWriMo, but so far I’m doing okay. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

